

Ad Hoc Faculty Senate IT Committee Meeting

10 September 2024 1:00 PM, 2025 Center for Computation and Technology

Approved Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance:

Present: Param Singh (Chair), Gerry Knapp (Secretary), Scott Baldridge, Kenneth Lopata, Juana Moreno, Samuel Robison, Craig Woolley (Ex-officio), Sumit Jain (Ex-officio). Absent: Fabio Del Piero, Thomas Douthat (special advisor: non-voting), Larry Smolinsky (special advisor: non voting).

A regular meeting of the ad hoc FS IT committee convened at 1:00pm on September 10, 2024, in room 2025 of the Digital Media Center (Center for Computation and Technology) at the LSU campus, with the Chair and Secretary being present.

The minutes of the last meeting were adopted on a motion by Baldridge.

In the Chair's comments, Singh mentioned that FSEC after consultation with General Counsel's office has appointed Thomas Douthat and Larry Smolinsky as non-voting special advisors. Singh also mentioned that he has informed Provost Haggerty and Senior Vice Provost Cassidy that this committee has completed the review of all policies except PS128 which is not yet available to be reviewed because it is being rewritten by ITS.

Discussion began on development of educational materials for the IT policies. Lopata moved to "go through the policy statements in numerical order", passed unanimously. The committee completed discussion of key points to include in the educational materials for PS-120 Information Security Program and PS-121 Acceptable Use.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:32 pm, following a motion by Baldridge, passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted, Gerry Knapp, Secretary