

Ad Hoc Faculty Senate IT Committee Meeting

13 December 2023 8:45 AM, 1008B Center for Computation and Technology

Approved Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance:

Present: Param Singh (Chair), Gerry Knapp (Secretary), Scott Baldridge, Thomas Douthat, Kenneth Lopata, Juana Moreno, Craig Woolley (Ex-officio), Sumit Jain (Ex-officio). Absences: Samuel Robison, Larry Smolinsky.

A regular meeting of the ad hoc FS IT committee convened at 8:52 am on Dec 13, 2023 in room 1008B of the Digital Media Center (Center for Computation and Technology) at the LSU campus, with the Chair and Secretary being present. There were no public comments. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted by majority vote following a motion by Moreno.

Chair Singh determined with the committee members that next semester our meetings will regularly be held 9-10:30am on Wednesdays. Our next meeting will be held Wed 1/17/23 at 9am.

Knapp moved to "suspend the rules to move PS-127 before the faculty technology survey on the agenda", passed unanimously.

The committee began review of PS-127 (Compliance). Jain gave a short summary presentation on the policy statement and its standards, followed by review and discussions. The following motions were put forth:

- Knapp moved to "approve PS-127-ST-1 Contract Management", passed unanimously.
- Knapp moved to "approve PS-127-ST-2 Compliance Programs", passed unanimously.
- Baldridge moved to "table further review of PS-127-ST-3 to next meeting", passed unanimously.

A brief discussion was held on possible topics and questions for the Faculty Technology Survey. Chair Singh encouraged everyone to submit these by Friday 12/15 to Vice Provost Jackie Bach. It was suggested that regular periodic reviews of major technology systems facing faculty (such as learning management systems) be conducted. A request was made to CIO Woolley to ask LSU Online to provide usage data on Moodle overall as well as usage of the various Moodle features.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:28am, following a motion by Baldridge, passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted, Gerry Knapp, Secretary