

Faculty Senate

LSU Faculty Senate Meeting

3:00 pm, October 29, 2024 Dalton Woods Auditorium, Coast and Environment

Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance: Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) P=Present A=Absent

Name	Position	College	Attendance
Daniel Tirone	President	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Inessa Bazayev	Past President	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р
Parampreet Singh	Vice President	Science	Р
Michelle Osborn	Secretary	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Kyla Kazuschyk	Member-at-Large	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р
Kenneth Lopata	Member-at-Large	Science	А
Carmela Mattza	Member-at-Large	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р

Senators (Alternates)

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Achyut Adhikari	Agriculture	А	Paul Manthei	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Kayanush Aryana	Agriculture	Р	Giulio Mariotti	Coast and Environment	Р
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture	Р	Sarah Mathews	Science	Р
John Bardes	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Carmela Mattza	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Gerald Baumgartner	Engineering	Р	Supratik Mukhopadhyay	Coast and Environment	А
Brett Boutwell	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	Marcia Newcomer	Science	А
Christine Bruening	Art and Design	Р	Wayne Newhauser	Science	А
Summer Chandler	Law Center	Р	Michelle Osborn	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Yan Chen	Agriculture	Alt- Jennifer Blanchard	Rosemary Peters-Hill	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Rebecca Christofferson	Veterinary Medicine	р	Patricia Queiroz- Williams	Veterinary Medicine	А
Ray Diamond	Law Center	Р	Leonard Ray	Humanities and Social Sciences	А
Hallie Dozier	Agriculture	Р	Michael Russo	LSU Libraries	Alt- Michael Holt
Mehdi Farasat	Engineering	Р	Subramaniam Sathivel	Agriculture	Р
Meredith Gaglio	Art and Design	А	Ingmar Schoegl	Engineering	Р
Charles Goodman	Music and Dramatic Arts	А	Jennifer Scott	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Lauren Griffin	Humanities and Social Sciences	Alt- Kenneth Smith	Edward Shihadeh	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Janene Grodesky	Human Sciences and Education	Alt- Lisanne McCuller	Samuel Snow	Engineering	Р
Achim Herrmann	Science	Р	Paul Soto	Humanities and Social Sciences	Alt- Haley Cobb
Ryan Hulteen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Phillip Sprunger	Science	Р
Catherine Jacquet	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Casey Stannard	Agriculture	Р
Karim Johari	Humanities and Social Sciences		Min Su	Business	Р
Kyla Kazuschyk	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р	Chao Sun	Engineering	А
Revati Kumar	Science	Р	Michelle Todd	Human Sciences and Education	А
Patty Lathan	Veterinary Medicine	Alt- Charles Lee	Mayank Tyagi	Engineering	А
Tracy LeBlanc	Humanities and Social Sciences		Bulent Unel	Business	Alt- Scott Abrahams
Yuwei Li	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Ted Waldron	Business	А
Kenneth Lopata	Science	А	Cathy Williams	Agriculture	А
Donald Lund	Business	Р	Jian Xu	Engineering	А
Charles Delzell	Science	Р	Jun Zou	Art and Design	А

Guests

Name	Affiliation	Attendance
Tomislav Jelesijevic	CBS, Veterinary Medicine	Р
Jackie Bach	OAA	Р
Dandina N. Rao	College of Engineering, Pet. Eng	Р
Patricia McCourt	United Campus Workers -CWA	Р
Dayton White	Staff Senate	Р
June Pulliam	United Campus Workers -CWA	Р

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate convened at 3:05 pm on October 29, 2024, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium at the LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. President Tirone announced alternates and guests. There were no public comments on any agenda items. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted as distributed.

In his report, President Tirone discussed: (i) main points of the Board of Supervisors October 10th Meeting, including amendments to its Regulations that involve creating titles for full-time faculty focused on instruction and making changes to the language about sabbaticals, the adoption of a resolution to review and eliminate all programs "in which classifications are maintained on the basis of race, sex, color, ethnicity, political views or national origin", and changes to its Bylaws; (ii) the rollout of Student Workday; (iii) faculty concerns with Summer course scheduling; (iv) updates to the Remote Learning Plan; (v) beginning steps to planning the Spring 25 Faculty Council Meeting; (vi) the October 16th orientation for new Faculty Senators and Committee Chairs.

Questions and comments for President Tirone's report included: (i) compliments for President Tirone's work with LSU administration and the Board of Supervisors for asserting faculty interests with regards to amendments that affect faculty; (ii) concerns about which programs may be impacted by the adopted resolution.

New Business

The next item of business was the election to the Budget and Planning Advisory Committee. Peters-Hill made a motion to hold the election for the Budget and Planning Advisory Committee. With no objections, the motion carried. President Tirone gave a presentation on the charge of the committee and discussed the nominated candidate. With no nominations from the floor, Tomislav Jelesijevic was elected unopposed to the Budget and Planning Advisory Committee.

Presentations

President Tirone then introduced Tracy Blanchard, Director of Disability Services, who gave a presentation on Accessible Information Management (AIM). Blanchard acknowledged the unexpected rollout of AIM but highlighted its efficiency and protections for faculty, staff, and students involved with the accommodation process. A brief discussion followed the presentation.

President Tirone then introduced Jackie Bach, Vice Provost for Academic Programs and Support Services, who gave the report from the Grammarly Committee regarding Grammarly Guidance for faculty. The Grammarly Committee included representatives from both administration and faculty: Jackie Bach, Jennifer Baumgartner (School of Education, College of Human Sciences and Education; Faculty Chair Communication across the Curriculum), Brandon Common (Vice President of Student Affairs), Michelle Osborn (Dept. of Comparative Biomedical Sciences, School of Veterinary Medicine; Faculty Senate Secretary), Sarah Rosser (Dept. of English, College of Humanities and Social Sciences; University Writing Program), Sarah Simms (Libraries, Undergraduate and Student Success Librarian), and Leslie Tuttle (Department of History, College of Humanities and Social Sciences; Chair of Faculty Senate Library Committee). Bach described Grammarly, provided statistics for current campus usage, and gave the Committee's recommendations to Faculty regarding Grammarly use in courses. A brief discussion followed the presentation.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:04 pm following a motion by Shihadeh. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Michelle Osborn, Secretary