LSU Faculty Senate Resolution 12–9

Graduate Faculty Membership for Faculty with 100% LSU AgCenter Appointments

Introduced by Lawrence Datnoff with concurrence from College of Agriculture Department Heads, School Directors, & LSU AgCenter Regional Directors*

Whereas Graduate Faculty membership requirements, rights, and responsibilities calls for members to maintain a current and sustained record of scholarly or creative activities demonstrated by publications in recognized journals in their area of study, books, and exhibitions or performances;

Whereas Full and Associate members of the graduate faculty must possess the highest degree appropriate to the field of study or unquestionable evidence of comparable achievement in the field;

Whereas faculty with 100% LSU AgCenter appointments have the same professional credentials and research expectations as faculty with an LSU A&M budgetary appointment such as;

- have terminal degrees in the same disciplines, many with postdoctoral experience;
- publish in prestigious and high impact scientific journals;
- publish books, compendia, and other scholarly outputs;
- serve as Editors, Senior Editors, and Associate Editors of scientific journals;
- serve as President, Vice-President, and as other officers of their respective scientific societies;
- serve on grant panels of NSF, USDA, etc.;
- are senior or Co- PI's on technology development resulting in disclosures, patents, and licenses;
- receive prestigious and competitive scientific awards i. e. Outstanding Researcher;
- receive invited keynote addresses/lecturers at international meetings, universities, and other professional organizations;
- give invited seminars and guest lectures in graduate courses;
- are recognized as national and international experts in specific disciplines;

• and have scientific expertise in fields complementary to other departmental faculty that would benefit from graduate course educational offerings;

Whereas many faculty with 100% LSU AgCenter appointments were granted and maintained full Graduate Faculty membership status for years until the policy was unceremoniously changed;

Whereas 100% AgCenter faculty cannot serve as chair of a graduate student committee without special "dispensation" from the LSU Graduate Council;

Whereas this demotion is interpreted by otherwise highly productive faculty members as an unjust and inexplicable punishment;

Whereas this restriction can diminish a School/Department's ability to fulfill requirements for graduating the average number of MS and PhD students as stipulated by the Board of Regents;

Whereas this restriction can limit the ability of graduate students to achieve their highest levels of intellectual and personal development;

Whereas this restriction can limit graduate research opportunities designed to attract and educate highly qualified graduate students;

Whereas restrictions in opportunities for faculty to direct research programs of highly qualified graduate students will reduce overall support from funding agencies thereby limiting the available funds to promote research excellence, institutional IP, professional development, and academic growth;

Therefore be it resolved that the LSU Faculty Senate strongly recommends that the Graduate Council and Graduate School find a permanent solution to the problems experienced by faculty with 100% LSU AgCenter appointments whose credentials have been reviewed by a Department or School and who have been given approval to teach or do research but who do not yet meet the formal membership requirements that would enable them to enjoy the rights and responsibilities of Graduate Faculty status as Full or Associate members of the graduate faculty.

*John Barnett, Regional Director, Northeast Station

Michael Burnett, Director, School of Human Ecology

Patrick Colyer, Regional Director, Northwest Region

David Constant, Department Head, Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Gail Cramer, Department Head, Ag. Economics & Agribusiness

Lawrence Datnoff, Department Head, Plant Pathology & Crop Physiology

John Finley, Department Head, Food Science

James Geaghan, Department Head, Experimental Statistics

Gary Hay, Director, School of Animal Sciences

Donald Labonte, Director, School of Plant, Environ. & Soil Sciences

Benjamin Legendre, Department Head, Audubon Sugar

Steve Linscombe, Regional Director, Southwest Region
Boyd Padgett, Regional Director, Central Region
Allen Rutherford, Director, School of Renewable Natural Resources
Timothy Schowalter, Department Head, Entomology