

Faculty Senate Executive Committee Meeting 10:00 am, 19 February 2024 135F Thomas Boyd Hall

Approved Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance:

Present: Inessa Bazayev (President), Daniel Tirone (Vice-President), Parampreet Singh (Secretary), Kyla Kazuschyk (Member-at-Large), Kevin Ringelman (Member-at-Large), Michelle Osborn (Member-at-Large), Tricia Cobb (Administrative Assistant)

Absent: Mandi Lopez (Past President)

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee was held at 10:01 am on Feb 19, 2024, at 135F Thomas Boyd Hall at the LSU campus, with the President being the Chair and the Secretary being present. There were no public comments. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted following a motion by Kazuschyk.

President's updates: (i) Student government resolution on participation in Faculty Senate committees was discussed; (ii) There have been changes to the reimbursement process for the faculty and students enrolled in the Study Abroad Program; (iii) Membership of APIC committee was discussed; (iv) Meetings with LSU administration on revoking AAUP censures are going well; (v) Faculty have expressed concerns with low grades and course scheduling issues for freshmen students; (vi) Discussed potential meeting with President Tate.

The first item of unfinished business was the agenda for the Faculty Senate meeting on Feb 20. The agenda of the meeting will consist of President's Report, ASH proposals on "I" Grade Policy Change by Graduate School and Change in Concentrated Study Period, Presentation on Campus Safety by Marshall Walters, Interim Chief of Police, and CJ Avory, Associate Director, Office of Emergency Preparedness and a Presentation on Workday Student by Clay Benton, University Registrar; Robin Ethridge, Executive Director of Enterprise Architecture; and Ryan Landry, Assistant Vice Provost for Policy & Administration.

The committee then discussed the Ed tech survey. Singh reported that so far over 550 faculty members have responded to the survey, and close to 400 faculty members have signed up for a raffle.

The next item of the business was Grammarly. Bazayev will discuss student access with the student government.

The committee then discussed the nominating committee. Tirone moved that Matthew Hiatt, Carmela Mattza, Molly Redfield and James Madden should be contacted for membership of this committee. Passed unanimously. In the new business committee discussed expenses for Cobb's office furniture. Ringelman moved to approve \$8260.41 for this expenditure. Passed unanimously.

The next item on the agenda was the report for the CoFA/Board of Supervisors meeting. The report would consist of faculty accomplishments and recent focus on engagement on the campus.

The committee then discussed potentially changing some of the ad hoc committees to standing committees. Committee members discussed the upcoming election to the Faculty Appeals Board, Faculty Adjudication Committee and the Budget and Planning Advisory committee.

The last item on the agenda was the DEI committee. Some members of this committee have reached out to Bazayev about the charge of the committee. Bazayev will invite committee members to discuss with FSEC.

Ringelman moved to adjourn the meeting at 11:38 am. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Parampreet Singh, Secretary