

JANUARY 2014 • Official newsletter of the LSU College of Science



NEWS/EVENTS



Cynthia Peterson Named Dean of LSU College of Science

LSU has named Cynthia Peterson as the new dean of the College of Science. Peterson is a professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology and current associate dean of academic personnel in the College of Arts and Sciences, University of Tennessee-Knoxville. Peterson will begin at LSU on Aug. 1, pending approval by the LSU Board of Supervisors.

Peterson, who will be the first female dean of the College of Science, will replace Guillermo Ferreyra, who has served as interim dean of the college since Jan. 1, 2013.

More



LSU Discover

University Launches Campus-Wide Research Symposium as Part of QEP Initiative

LSU Discover, the university's comprehensive Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP), will have its first ever campus-wide undergraduate research symposium March 10 in the Cotillion Ballroom of the LSU Student Union. The event, LSU Discover Research Day, will feature poster presentations, displays, and other activities highlighting the research, creativity, and innovation taking place at LSU.

CLICK HERE for more information on LSU Discover and LSU Discover Research Day.





The conference will be held in honor of Wen-Ching Winnie Li (above).

CUWiP Conference Success

More than 100 participated in the regional conference

The LSU Department of Physics hosted the South-Central Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP) January 17-19. The conference showcased different careers in physics through a series of presentations and panel discussions. The 110 participants, 80 of whom were undergraduate students, were engaged in discussions and networking throughout the weekend.

The local organizing committee consisted of physics professors Mette Gaarde and Gabriela González, graduate student Anamaria Effler, undergraduate students Hannah Gardiner and Amy LeBleu, recent physics graduates Bethany Broekhoven and Mia Ferriss, and physics staff members Stephanie Jones, Colleen Fava and Karen Richard.

More

LSU Hosts International Number Theory Conference

Some of the world's foremost experts in Number Theory will be at LSU, April 12-15, for the Applications of Automorphic Forms in Number Theory and Combinatronics conference. This year's event will be held in honor of Wen-Ching Winnie Li, a Distinguished Professor of Mathematics at the Pennsylvania State University, who has made outstanding contributions to number theory, automorphic forms, and applications.

The conference will bring together top experts, junior researchers, and graduate students in the fields of number theory and automorphic forms. Speakers include Abel prize winners Jean-Pierre Serre from Collège de France and John Tate from Harvard University.



LSU Reports an All-Time High Graduation Rate

LSU's six-year graduation rate has once again increased to an all-time high, LSU President and Chancellor F. King Alexander announced. LSU's six-year graduation rate is 69.1 percent, up from last year's rate of 66.7 percent.

"Raising our graduation rates to this level while maintaining academic excellence underscores LSU's value," Alexander said. "In addition to educating the next generation of engineers, scientists, teachers - high demand fields in Louisiana - we are also providing real solutions to the state's workforce problems. That's what a flagship university does creates solutions."

More

KUDOS



George Cochran, associate professor of mathematics and expert croquet player, took home his third 9 Wicket Singles title during the United States Croquet Association's 9 Wicket Croquet National Championship in West Palm Beach, FL, December 8 - 10.

More



Robin McCarley, Alumni Professor of Chemistry, was recently appointed to the Editorial Advisory Board of the American Chemical Society (ACS) journal Analytical Chemistry. This journal is devoted to the dissemination of new and original knowledge in all branches of analytical chemistry.

R. McCarley

MARQUEE PUBLICATIONS



Members of the Conserved DedA Family Are Likely Membrane Transporters and Are Required for Drug Resistance in Escherichia coli, a paper by William T. Doerrler, associate professor of biological sciences, and Sujeet Kumar, biological sciences graduate student, was published in the February 2014 edition of Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, a journal published by the American Society of Microbiology.

More

STAR SCHOLARS



Ariel Jones, supplemental instruction leader for William Crowe's Chemistry 2261 course, is the recipient of the Dr. Saundra Yancy McGuire Outstanding Supplemental Instruction (SI) Leader Award. Jones was selected for the \$200 award because of her leadership, service, scholarship, and love of learning and teaching.

On Jones' nomination form, Crowe wrote:

"Ariel Jones is, by a significant margin, the best SI leader I have worked with to date. This was true a year ago (in fall 2012) when I worked with Ariel for the first time, and she has gotten even better the second time around.

MUSEUM OF NATURAL

L to R: Saundra McGuire, retired professor of chemistry and Director Emerita of the Center for Academic Success; Supplemental Instruction Leader Ariel Jones; and Guillermo Ferreyra, College of Science interim dean.

DEVELOPMENT

NEW DEAN'S CIRCLE MEMBERS

The College of Science would like to welcome the newest members of the Dean's Circle. Thank you for your contribution to the exciting teaching and research activities in the College of Science.

- Charles and Mary Belleau
- Robb and Tiffany Brumfield
- Keith and Cecilia Comeaux
- Robert T. Grissom
- Frankie G. Rholdon and Roger D. Rholdon Jr.
- James and Carol Lee Schnabel

ISAHd Click here for a complete list of DC members

Support Research
and Scholarship at LSUoinImage: Construction of the second secon **DEAN'S CIRCLE**

The Dean's Circle (DC) is a loyal group of alumni and friends who share a passion for advancing scholarship and research at LSU. DC members are playing an ever-increasing role in supporting the college's Formula for Excellence Strategic Plan. Our DC provides the working capital needed to fund pursuits of the College including, but not limited to:

- scholarships for first-time freshmen to attend pre-college boot camps,
- student organizations and educational travel expenses,
- faculty recruitment and recognition activities, and
- development initiatives that build alumni and community relations.

Dean's Circle membership recognizes the generosity of alumni and friends who make annual gifts of \$1,000 or more to the Science Development Fund. Members enjoy invitations to events hosted by the college, including the annual Dean's Circle dinner and Hall of Distinction Ceremony, special communications from the dean throughout the year, and opportunities to meet and network with college leadership and other members.

To join by mail, make your check payable to "LSU Foundation-Science Dean's Circle" and mail your check to: LSU Foundation, 3838 West Lakeshore Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808

To donate online go to <u>www.lsufoundation.org/give to science</u>.

CONTACT US:

For more information on the Dean's Circle, please contact Adrian Owen, aowen@lsu.edu., 225.578.5100.

To submit news items for the upcoming College of Science E-News, e-mail djenkins1@lsu.edu



ILIKE US on facebook

www.science.lsu.edu

BIOLOGICAL SCIE

l sjitamahtam

SI