LSU Speech & Debate Press Release – Fall Retreat 2018

The LSU Mixon Lycaeum Speech and Debate Team participated in a fall retreat to Bayou Segnette State Park in Westwego, Louisiana over Labor Day weekend. The weekend started with several workshops led by graduate students Laura Oliver and Josh Hamzahee, as well as faculty members Kina Reed and Dr. Ashley Mack. Throughout the weekend students participated in a variety of team building exercises as well as activities to grow their skills as speakers and debaters. The team welcomed new members from across the university, as well as returning students from a variety of majors and colleges. Kina Reed, the Director of the Forensics at LSU, said of the weekend,

Getting the team together alongside new members was completely revitalizing for our program! Each year we try to start the new completion season in reflection. This year's retreat allowed us to do that and included some amazing opportunities for goal-setting as well. As always, I am honored to get to inspire so many amazing students.

Additionally, returning senior Dena Winegeart stated, "Waking up and seeing such a peaceful view of Bayou Segnette was such a treat, especially when it is paired with the opportunity to grow, personally and competitively, with my teammates!"

This trip was designed to reinvigorate students after a relaxing summer vacation to prepare them for a busy semester of travel. During a goal writing exercise, several students expressed their desire to bring home major trophies to LSU this year. With the new fire ignited after a weekend of skill building, the team is more than ready to take on some serious competition at their first tournament, The Hub City Swing in Hattiesburg, MS Sept. 28th-30th.

The LSU Mixon Lycaeum Speech and Debate Team is always interested in new members. Please feel free to contact the Director of Forensics Joquina Reed at <u>jreed2@lsu.edu</u>.



Pictured: (back row, left to right) Abishek Stanley, Jalen Davis, Soheil Saneei Alex Rader, Tanishq Sai Goribidanur Saachi Chugh, Dena Winegeart, Andrew Arata, Akash Kaushal Kalvin Marquiz, Russell Wilder