## MINUTES PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE MEETING Lod Cook Alumni Center 3838 W. Lakeshore Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808 Wednesday, April 21, 2021 | Time: 3:00 p.m. CST

#### I. Call to Order and Roll Call

Dr. Gabriela González, Vice Chair, called to order the Presidential Search Committee Meeting of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College at the Lod Cook Alumni Center in Baton Rouge on April 21, 2021.

Present Ms. Hannah Barrios Mr. Clarence Cazalot Mr. Larry Clark Ms. Gabriela González Mr. Lester Johnson Mr. Luke Laborde Ms. Lori Martin Mr. Roland Mitchell Mr. Edwin Murray Mr. Steve Nelson Ms. Christel Slaughter Ms. Tara Smith Ms. Takeyra Wagner Ms. Mary Leach Werner

<u>Absent</u> Mr. Glenn Armentor Mr. E.R. "Chip" Campbell Ms. Jessica Jones Mr. Rémy Starns Mr. James Williams

Also participating in the meeting: Mr. Winston DeCuir, general counsel for LSU, and Laurie Wilder, Porsha Williams, Grant Higgison, and Julie Johnson, all of whom are representatives from Parker Executive Search Firm.

## II. Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance

The invocation was offered by Ms. Valencia Jones. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Clark.

## III. Public Comment

There were no individuals registered for public comment.

#### IV. Approval of Minutes

Motion to approve minutes of the April 10, 2021 meeting by Ms. Jones and seconded by Ms. Slaughter. Motion adopted without objection.

# V. <u>Consideration of Candidate for Interviews</u>

Dr. González opened the floor for discussion about candidate list. Dr. Mitchell proposed a motion to accept all names of candidates received by the search firm and close the nominations. Motion seconded by Ms. Barrios.

Mr. Clark questioned if the position posting stated the position would remain open until filled. Mr. Clark recommended the timeframe remain open past the current date.

Mr. DeCuir recommended the Committee amend the motion to include all applicants be considered without a formal deadline. The amended motion was seconded by Ms. Barrios.

A roll call vote was conducted – 15 yays and none opposed. The motion was adopted without objection.

Dr. González and Mr. DeCuir indicated the initial round of interviews will be conducted virtually and accessible to the public. Mr. DeCuir stated although the interviews are public, there is a portion of the interview that may be conducted in public.

Ms. Wilder explained the process of recruiting candidates for the position.

Dr. González requested a recess to await the Chairman's arrival.

The meeting was reconvened. Mr. Williams requested a committee roll call.

# Present

Ms. Hannah Barrios Mr. Clarence Cazalot Mr. Larry Clark Ms. Gabriela González Mr. Lester Johnson Mr. Luke Laborde Ms. Lori Martin Mr. Roland Mitchell Mr. Steve Nelson Ms. Christel Slaughter Ms. Tara Smith Mr. Rémy Starns Ms. Takeyra Wagner Ms. Mary Leach Werner Mr. James Williams

<u>Absent</u> Mr. Glenn Armentor Mr. E.R. "Chip" Campbell Ms. Jessica Jones Mr. Williams open the floor for recommendations for candidates to be interviewed. The following individuals were recommended: Laurence Alexander, Ronald Clark, Jay Dardenne, Kelvin Droegemeier, James Henderson, Rustin Moore, Mary Ann Rankin, and Jeffery Talley.

Mr. Williams called for a motion to accept the right nominations. Moved by Mr. Starns, seconded by Mr. Cazalot. A roll call vote was conducted - 17 yays and none opposed. Without objection, the motion was adopted.

Mr. Williams and Ms. Wilders discussed the interview process.

## VI. Adjournment

Without further business before the Committee, the meeting was adjourned.