

**Finance & Administration** Office of Accounting Services

July 21, 2021

To: President William F Tate IV Interim Executive Vice President and Provost Matt Lee Vice President Bill Richardson Executive Director John Kirwan Deans, Directors, and Department Heads

Re: Fringe Benefit Rates Applied to Sponsored Agreements during FY 2021-2022

Federal offices nationwide have continued to experience delays in processing due to COVID-19. As a result, the fringe benefit and tuition remission rate agreement effective for FY 2021-2022 has just been finalized with the rates as indicated below:

| Louisiana State University, including Pennington Biomedical Research Center |        |
|---|--------|
| Employees   | 44.00% |
| 2-Year Post-Doctoral Researchers and 2-Year Interns                         | 22.00% |
| Graduate assistants – Tuition Remission                                     | 38.00% |
| Contingent/WAE labor (spend category SC6018/SC6021)                         | 7.65%  |
| Non-student employees with "F" or "J" visa (spend category SC6009)          | 44.00% |
| LSU Agricultural Center   |        |
| Employees   | 53.00% |
| 2-Year Post-Doctoral Researchers and 2-Year Interns                         | 22.00% |
| Graduate assistants – Tuition Remission                                     | 38.00% |
| Federal employees   | 33.00% |
| Contingent/WAE labor (spend category SC6018/SC6021)                         | 7.65%  |
| Non-student employees with "F" or "J" visa (spend category SC6009)          | 53.00% |

The tuition remission rate of 38% will apply to all proposals for new funding, gifts, restricted, auxiliary, and expired fixed price agreements. For FY 2022, there are no changes to fringe benefit rates for employees and contingent labor.

If clarification or additional information is needed, please contact Elahe Russell at erussell@lsu.edu.

Donna Torres Interim Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration/CFO Samuel J. Bentley Vice President for Research and Economic Development

xc: Jaime Estave, Darya Courville, Guy LaVergne, Monica Mougeot, Lori Parker, Jan Bernath, ASP Members