

Finance & Administration

April 27, 2017

To: President Alexander Vice President Richardson Interim Executive Director Ryan Deans, Directors, and Department Heads

Re: Fringe Benefit Rates Applied to Sponsored Agreements during FY 2017-2018

Fringe benefit rates have been established for FY 2017-2018 pursuant to the requirements of 2 CFR Part 200 - Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards. The rates effective for July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018 are as follows:

| Louisiana State University, including Pennington Biomedical Research Center | |
|---|--------|
| Employees | 44.00% |
| Graduate assistants – Tuition Remission | 35.00% |
| Contingent/WAE labor (spend category SC6018/SC6021) | 7.65% |
| PBRC non-student employees with "F" or "J" visa (spend category SC6009) | 44.00% |
| LSU Agricultural Center | |
| Employees | 48.00% |
| Graduate assistants – Tuition Remission | 35.00% |
| Federal employees | 33.00% |
| Contingent/WAE labor (spend category SC6018/SC6021) | 7.65% |

LSU rates indicated above for employees and contingent labor apply to both new and existing sponsored agreements including gifts and expired fixed price agreements. The tuition remission rate applies to new sponsored agreements and all gifts and expired fixed price agreements.

Effective immediately, these rates apply to new proposals and requests for new, supplemental funding to existing awards. The policies for Ag Center and PBRC may differ.

If clarification or additional information is needed, please contact Elahe Russell, LSU (578-1639 or <u>erussell@lsu.edu</u>); Jan Bernath, Ag Center (578-4645 or <u>jbernath@agcenter.lsu.edu</u>); or Monica Mougeot, PBRC (763-0915 or <u>monica mougeot@pbrc.edu</u>).

Daniel T. Layzell Vice President for Finance and Administration/CFO

Kalliat T. Valos

Kalliat T. Valsaraj Vice President for Research and Economic Development

xc: Executive Vice President and Provost Richard Koubek, Ms. Donna Torres, Ms. Elahe Russell, Ms. Jaime Estave, Ms. Darya Courville, Mr. Guy LaVergne, Ms. Monica Mougeot, Ms. Jan Bernath, ASP Members