

Finance & Administration Office of Accounting Services

June 4, 2020

To: Interim President Galligan Vice President Richardson Executive Director John Kirwan Executive Vice President and Provost Stacia Haynie Deans, Directors, and Department Heads

Re: Fringe Benefit Rates Applied to Sponsored Agreements during FY 2020-2021

Fringe benefit rates have been established for FY 2020-2021 pursuant to the requirements of 2 CFR Part 200 - Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards. The rates effective for July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021 are as follows:

Louisiana State University, including Pennington Biomedical Research Center	
Employees	44.00%
2-Year Post-Doctoral Researchers and 2-Year Interns	22.00%
Graduate assistants – Tuition Remission	36.00%
Contingent/WAE labor (spend category SC6018/SC6021)	7.65%
Non-student employees with "F" or "J" visa (spend category SC6009)	44.00%
LSU Agricultural Center	
Employees	53.00%
2-Year Post-Doctoral Researchers and 2-Year Interns	22.00%
Graduate assistants – Tuition Remission	36.00%
Federal employees	33.00%
Contingent/WAE labor (spend category SC6018/SC6021)	7.65%
Non-student employees with "F" or "J" visa (spend category SC6009)	53.00%

LSU rates indicated above for employees and contingent labor apply to both new and existing sponsored projects – including gifts and expired fixed price agreements. The tuition remission rate above applies to all proposals for new funding, all gifts and expired fixed price agreements. The policies for Ag Center and PBRC may differ.

If clarification or additional information is needed, please contact Elahe Russell, LSU (578-1639 or <u>erussell@lsu.edu</u>); Jan Bernath, Ag Center (578-4645 or <u>ibernath@agcenter.lsu.edu</u>); or Monica Mougeot, PBRC (763-0915 or <u>monica.mougeot@pbrc.edu</u>).

Daniel T. Lavzell

Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration/CFO

Samuel J. Bentley Vice President for Research and Economic Development

xc: Donna Torres, Elahe Russell, Jaime Estave, Darya Courville, Guy LaVergne, Monica Mougeot, Jan Bernath, ASP Members